Pipe Noir

The Story Behind The Shot

I use to work in the Meatpacking District. On nice days, my coworker and I would take long lunches and often we would stumble upon something interesting going on in the Meatpacking. One hot summer afternoon, we saw this large machine that looked like a tractor but it wasn’t. It had only two wheels and a valve/pipe thingy that looked similar to the kind you would see in cartoons from the 80’s that would signal that a loud locomotive/train was pulling out of the station. Anyway, there was a lot of distraction going on in the background so I opened my lens as wide as I could to blur out the background and voila… that’s how I got this shot.

Leave a Reply

